Mozart's Bassoon Concerto 1. Introduction and Editions. BDP # 212. By Terry B. Ewell, Bassoon Digital Professor. Assisted by Vincent Igusa, bassoon and Catherine Renggli, piano.

莫扎特巴松管协奏曲1.介绍和版本。BDP212.巴松管教授唐英伟。由钢琴Catherine Renggli,和巴松管Vincent Igusa协助录制。

<Music: Vincent Igusa, bassoon, and Catherine Renggli, piano. Towson University Recital Hall, 20 June 2017.>
<音乐:巴松管: Vincent Igusa,钢琴: Catherine Renggli;陶森大学演奏厅,2017620日。>

1. Welcome, I am Terry Ewell, the Bassoon Digital Professor. I am quite excited to bring this new series to you about the Mozart Bassoon Concerto.

2. The first movement of the Mozart Bassoon Concerto is perhaps the most significant work in the repertoire for bassoonists. I have performed the Concerto many times, including with the Hong Kong Philharmonic under the direction of Maestro Jah Jah Ling.
莫扎特巴松管协奏曲第一乐章可能是巴松管演奏家曲目中最重要的作品,我曾多次演奏这首协奏曲,还与Jah Jah Ling指挥的香港爱乐乐团共同合作演出。

3. The first movement of the Concerto is required for many university auditions. It is a staple of orchestral auditions as well. Last of all, the accessibility and beauty of the Concerto has made it a favorite with performers and audiences for many years.

4. Thus, given the significance of the work, you should carefully research all features of the Concerto. My goal with these videos is to educate you about neglected and perhaps even unknown aspects of this prized possession in our repertoire.

5. There are numerous editions of the Mozart Concerto available. I own seven print editions of the work. You might be thinking, are the editions really all that different? Well, let’s take a look. I have performed from the edition in Figure 1 for several decades. The version in Figure 2 was perhaps the most common edition of the Concerto in 20th century USA.
有很多版本的莫扎特协奏曲可供选择,我收藏了这部作品的七个版本。你可能会想,这些版本真的都不一样吗?那么,让我们来看看。我演奏了图1的版本多年。 图2中的版本可能是20世纪美国协奏曲中最常见的版本。

Figures 1 and 2


6. Notice the striking differences between the two versions. Guetter has added dynamics, crescendos and decrescendos, articulations, and even “con spirito.” None of these appear in the version penned by Mozart. In Figure 1, Universal Edition, additions made by the editor are presented in parenthesis or with dashed lines. This allows the performer to accept or reject the editor’s suggestions.


7. Let’s make another comparison in the Concerto.


Figure 7
8. Thus, you can see that your choice of music will determine the manner in which you play and even the particular notes you perform in the concerto. The Guetter edition writes out the turn, and it appears quite different than the other versions. The turns in Examples B and C give B natural. These sound “correct” because of the many performances of the work you may have heard. However, the turn with B flat would be quite common for the performance practice in Mozart’s time. The editor in version A, the Universal Edition, indicates this. Only by referring to the Universal edition or another edition more closely aligned with the original version would you know about playing a B flat here.
因此,你可以看到你选择的音乐将决定你演奏的方式,甚至是在协奏曲中演奏的具体音符。 Guetter版本写出了这个转折,而且看起来与其他版本完全不同。 示例B和C中的转折用的自然音B。这些听起来“正确”,因为你可能听过许多演奏版本。然而,在莫扎特时代,演奏者用bB是相当普 遍的。通用版本A中指出了这一点。只有通过参考通用版或与原版更接近的其他版本,你才会知道在这里要演奏bB。

<Music: performance of mm. 50-57>

9. There are many more differences between the editions and you should consider them carefully.

10. These are my recommendations for performance editions:这些是我对各个演奏版本的建议:
Concerto in Bb Major K191 (Turkovic)-BSN/PN
Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Publisher: Universal Edition (Austria)
Edition: 18123
bB大调协奏曲K191(Turkovic)-BSN / PN
出版商:Universal Edition(奥地利)

Concerto in Bb Major K191 (Urtext) (Study Score)-BSN/ORCH
Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)
Edition: TP253
bB大调协奏曲K191(原始文本)(研习总谱)-BSN / ORCH

Concerto in Bb Major K191 (Urtext)-BSN/PN
Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)
Edition: 4868-90
bB大调协奏曲K191(原始文本)-BSN / PN

Concerto in Bb Major K191 (Score & Set)-BSN/ORCH
Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Publisher: Breitkopf und Haertel (Germany)
Edition: 15103set
bB大调协奏曲K191(乐谱&章节)-BSN / ORCH

11. Not all of the editions above are without errors. For instance, the second movement of the Universal edition of the bassoon part has missing rests in measures 1 and 2. [show figure] In all cases, I suggest you check your version of the music with the free, authoritative edition of the work.
并非以上所有版本都没有错误。例如,通用版第二乐章巴松管部分在第一和第二小节中遗漏了休止符。[示意图] 在所有情况下,我建议你用免费的权威版本的作品检查你的音乐版本。

12. Log onto the NMA publications website and type in “191” in the appropriate box. 191 is the KV number for the bassoon concerto. 


13. There is no excuse, there is no excuse, there is no excuse for any bassoonist to be playing the Concerto without knowledge of the best edition of the work. This edition is available without charge to anyone with access to the Internet.

14. Here are three articles that will further guide your study of the concerto:
Ewell, Terry B. John Miller’s Master Class on the Mozart Bassoon Concerto K191. The Double Reed 28/1 (Winter 2005): 63-68.

Ewell, Terry B.  Playing those “Missing” Notes in Baroque and Classical Concerto. The Double Reed 20/1 (1997).

Ross, David J. “Ornamentation in the Bassoon Music of Vivaldi and Mozart,” Part II. The Double Reed 9/3 (Winter 1986).

     唐英伟 约翰米勒的莫扎特巴松管协奏曲K191大师班。双哨片28/1(2005冬季):63-68。http: //

唐英伟 在巴洛克和古典协奏曲中演奏那些“失踪”的音符。双哨片20/1(1997)。

罗斯,大卫J.“维瓦尔第和莫扎特巴松音乐的装饰音” 第二部分。双哨片9/3(1986冬季)。

15. I am very grateful for the assistance of my student Vincent Igusa and pianist Catherine Renggli, who perform this composition for the videos in this series. Last year, Vincent performed the first movement of the Concerto with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. He was a sophomore in High School at the time.

我非常感谢我的学生Vincent Igusa和钢琴伴奏Catherine Renggli的帮助,他们为这个系列的视频演奏了这个作品。去年,文森特与巴尔的摩交响乐团合作演奏了这部协奏曲的第一乐章,他当时是高中二年级的学生。

16. It is my hope that this series will awaken in you a new appreciation for the Concerto and enlighten your understanding of this wonderful composition.


<Music: Vincent Igusa, bassoon, and Catherine Renggli, piano. Towson University Recital Hall, 20 June 2017.>

<音乐:钢琴Catherine Renggli,巴松管Vincent Igusa,陶森大学演奏厅。2017年6月20日>